Month: November 2007


  • Phew! I’m done! I’m done!


    I breathe a big sigh of relief. 1 presentation down 2 more to go (next week).


    The presentation was done over Webex. Most of our Sales people work out of their homes, so instead of everyone having to congregate in one location, we all log in from our work computers wherever we are. I share my desktop with them and they see what’s on my screen as I move around and jibber jabber.


    And though they can’t see me, I still dressed up more business-y today. Somehow it makes me feel more professional and confident.


    Presentations always tire me out. Not used to having so many words come out of my mouth in a concentrated time. I was ready to call it a day at 9am!

    Got to have lunch with Belle and Noelle @ Zono’s! I also plan to leave early today. Woohoo! Happy Friday to you all!

  • It’s like I have some kind of special power…


    The other day I wore brown and during lunch I spilled balsamic vinegar on myself! But no one could tell b/c it was the exact same color.


    Then today, I wore black and I spilled half a cup of coffee on my arm. But you can’t see!


    Like magic.


    Now if I can just stop being so clumsy.
    Or just stay away from light clothing.

  • I have to do a presentation on Webex this Friday. The first of 3 to prepare for year-end and kick off 2008. Kind of nervous about it… the kind of nervous where you feel like ants are running around on your insides.

    I don’t like using these technology tools when I’m the presenter, someone usually will say, “I can’t log on… I can’t see the screen… I can’t… what do I do?” Beats me, can you just not participate? JK. I hope it all goes smoothly.

    I’m going to stay late at work tonight to get the presentation ready. It’s easier to get things done when it’s quiet anyway. I want to finish today so I have time to clean it up tomorrow. I also need to learn to lower my voice so I sound more authoritative and not so much like a kid. Well, they already know what I sound like… but still…

    S won’t be home for dinner. I think I’m going to eat ramen. Yay! (To the latter, that is.)


    I used to not like ramen… but after watching all these Korean dramas, I sometimes crave for ramen and jia-jiang mien. They make it look so good! Brainwashed?

  • I took yesterday off. So I had 5 days off in a row. It was so nice. 
    Somehow it passed like it was just a weekend.
    I am now paying for it since I have no back up. This is the most painful part of this job.


    Also got news this morning that I’ll be supporting a new Sales force that our company recently acquired.
    Okay, I think I’m feeling the onset of a panic attack.

  • Wednesday night, S and I went over to his Parents’ so I can help out with the Thanksgiving dinner preparations. They taught me how to de-bone a chicken. Crazy meticulous stuff, but delicious.

    When we were about done…

    Father-in-Law: Let me make you guys some dumpling soup before you go.
    S: Dad, it’s okay, we’re full.
    FIL: No, no, it’s really fast. [Walks to kitchen]
    S: Dad, it’s okay, really. Unless Judy wants some.
    J: Oh, it’s okay. I’m full too, thank you.
    FIL: Let me make it. [Starts filling up pan with water]
    J: Dad, thank you, but it’s really okay.
    MIL: They don’t want any, so don’t force them.
    FIL: But… I’m afraid… I’m afraid…that Judy’s hungry.

    Aww… and he just stood there in the kitchen holding the pot of water. Oh, they are really good to me.

    The family I was born into, the family I married into… really warm my heart. So thankful.

  • I got the rudest fortune from a fortune cookie today.

    “Your problem just got bigger. Think. What have you done?”



    No consolation that the learn chinese phrase in the back was “kai wan shiao”, kidding around. Pssh.

    Anyway, HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!
    I like this holiday, it reminds me to check my attitude, to look around and see how good I have it.


  • Thankful. Part 5.


    For humorous, light hearted people that make my job so much more enjoyable.
    For what I do, people only call me when they have issues with the system.
    So I love it when I can hear a smile in their voice.


    play telephoneJudy: Hi, this is Judy.
    Sales 1: Hi, it’s X. Before anything, look out your window.
    Judy: Okay, I’m looking out my window.
    Sales 1: Do you see the smoke signal that I’m sending you?
    Judy: Yes, it says SOS!
    Sales 1: Yes, it got there! I need your help.


    Sales 2: I need to forecast for … but I’m missing some fields.
    Judy: Sorry, there was some logic fault when the data was loaded a couple month ago.
    Sales 2: That is quite alright. I experience my own “logic fault” on a daily basis!


    And sometimes…

    Judy: Hey, Y!
    Sales 3: Did you ever hear about the one where… (and he goes on to tell me a joke).
    Judy: That’s funny!
    Sales 3: Well, that’s it! Have a good day.
    Judy: Oh, you don’t have a question for me?
    Sales 3: No, just wanted to tell you a joke.
    Judy: Thank you! I needed that.

    Very good people. I’m very fortunate.
    I feel very valued and very impactful where I am.
    I’m very happy here. I praise God for where He’s brought me.

    Alright, better get back to work.


  • Thankful. Part 4.


    For God’s protection.


    When I think about it, I’m amazed that a lot of us are still alive, esp those that are stuck in traffic. I have been rear ended 3 times. One of which was a terrible hit-and-run on the freeway which royally messed up my bumper. My car bumper, that is, not MY bumper. Another time, I was rear ended by a big rig that threw me into the car in front of me. My trusty ol’ Honda has been very good to me though I’m not so good with its maintenance.


    Yesterday I almost fell asleep at the wheel on the way to work. And on the way home some person almost ran into me because I was in his blind spot. Now, it’s not like this everyday of course… but I’m thankful that God keeps me safe.


    Another instance He kept us safe was when we went to visit Allen in Ohio in September. He took us canoeing. It was nice to be with family and the weather was beautiful. We were paddling our way serenely down the Little Miami River when we were caught up in rushing water and got rammed into a tree. It all happened in slow motion and our canoe flipped upside down and threw us into the rocky river. Good thing it wasn’t deep because I can’t swim. Amy (aka Jonah) was struggling in the water when Allen hoisted her up by the hood of her sweatshirt. When she stood up it only went to like our knees. Hahahaha! An injured knee and a lost sandal later, we were laughing about it.


    I had my camera in my pocket and miraculously it was A-OK! That’s how we were able to get this shot. Notice Amy’s wet jeans. And that’s me with only one shoe.


    lost sandal

  • Thankful. Part 3.

    I’ve been breaking out like a teenager all of a sudden. What’s going on? It’s so annoying, this is not supposed to happen.

    So I’m thankful for green concealer to neutralize red tones on the face. I always thought it was weird, after all, it’s GREEN… but decided to try it anyway. Whoever came up with this is a smarty. If only I’d unconsciously stop touching my face so much and wipe it all off.


    Anyway, I’m so glad I’m a girl. But maybe if I wasn’t a girl, I wouldn’t be as vain?


    color wheelCheck out this color wheel. I knew there was regular yellow based concealer, and green…but there’s also a purple one. Interesting. It’s really like painting your face.


    Yellow: Conceal bluish bruises, under-eye circle and mild red tones on the face
    Purple: Normalize yellow-colored imperfections such as sallow complexions and yellow bruises. Can also help conceal very dark under-eye circles and dark spots on bronze skin tones.
    Green: Neutralize red tones on the skin. Covering blemishes, red blotches, rosacea, port-wine stains.


    I wonder what I’d do if I was Elphaba from Wicked and wanted to neutralize my skin? I guess I’d use red concealer? But green skin + red concealer = neutral = grey? Well, but then to think again, she’d probably just use thick green concealer. And then put green foundation on that matches her skin tone. Yeah, that sounds right! Green witches need to market their own makeup line. “Bewitching.”


    (Oh. My. Goodness. I can’t believe I wasted my brain cells contemplating that just now.)

    Well… I’m thankful I’m a human with regular colored skin.

  • Thankful. Part 2.

    For meds.
    I remember my Grandma used to always pray before she takes her pills.
    How often I take my medicine for granted.

    I’m also thankful I can swallow big fat pills, too.
    I have a friend who cannot swallow pills so she chews on them instead.
    Including the fish oils.
    *gag*