Month: June 2010

  • My First Kiss

    Part of our bedtime routine is to read books. He has a lot to choose from but every month or so, N will tire of one and move onto another. I’ll say, “N, do you want to read a book?” He will look over to where all the books are and crawl over. I’ll lay out his favorites on the floor in front of him and say, “Do you want to read this one, this one, this one, or this one…?” He will look and quickly point, tap, or grab one.

    So we find a cozy spot on the floor. He sits on my lap and we read. I’m in charge of reading the words and pointing out the cool animals, flowers, balls, etc. He’s in charge of flipping the pages and getting excited about the cool animals, flowers, balls, etc. I love our reading time. It’s like reaching outside of our room. There is so much I want him to see and experience. We can’t do them all and we especially can’t do them all right now, but we can read and look at pictures.

    Tonight as we were reading, he turned to look up at me and kissed me, twice! Whoa! Did my heart just melt into a puddle on the floor? My first freely given kiss on this very beautiful day.

    I often pray that he will know how much we love him. I never thought perhaps he may want us to know the same.

    My heart will float away now.

     

  • Wow, hi! It’s been a long time, xanga. The last time I wrote in you, I was still pregnant.

    And in a week, on Father’s Day, N will be a year old!

    Whoever said that having a child is like having your heart walk outside of your body should get the grand prize.

    N is toddling now! It started out as accidental little steps as he was playing. He’d get this look of, “Waaaiiitt… I don’t know how to do this” and fall to the ground. Now he is starting to take more steps and still falling… more confidence in his steps and less care about falling. He falls a lot. He still crawls most of the time.

    I think to myself everyday, “He is so amazing! And God is so amazing!” A little cell becoming a personality all his own? This amazing, wonderful, lovable, adorable being who hugs, smiles, hides, cries, kisses, plays tricks on us…?!  

    Just amazing. I am so blessed I get to be his Mom.