Month: December 2008

  • It’s Christmas week and *it’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas*.Work is still crazy, but it’s the last leg! I might be on call on Friday, but it should be minimal. The Christmas decoration at church are so pretty, the gift exchange was fun and the girls there made me feel warm, the Christmas music on the radio, the bulging stocking hanging outisde my cubicle, the fireplace smell at night, seeing the kids’ faces light up when you hand them their presents, the Christmas messages and the annual church skits, the photo cards that I love receiving, wearing scarves and thermals in cold weather, getting together with family over good food, and little Robby in a santa hat pulled over his eyes…

    nativityJust 2 weeks ago I was thinking to myself, “I believe I’m willing to give up Christmas this year if only I can escape this work that is sucking my soul dry.” But now it’s almost here and I see the light at the end of the tunnel! It’s upon us and I’m so thankful God pulled me through. I am still sane! I even get more days off than I expected!

    Soon I will just enjoy and revel in this beautiful Christmas season. It’s full of meaning… how could I ever have thought to trade this for some hard work?

    Did you know… we got married in December 6 years ago (12/7 – Pearl Harbor Day)… my bouquet was made up of white roses, greens, and Christmas hollies. The bridesmaids wore red. There were panels of beautifully colored stained glass windows. There was a decorated Christmas tree in the church and red poinsettias that lined the stage. Pretty.

  • Home stretch!

    I just need to make it through Wednesday and then I’m off until the new year! At first it was: “No one can take days off in the back half of December.” Now our system is shutting down on Sunday so there’s nothing any of us can do anyway. I can barely graps having so many days off in a row… but it’s sinking in and it feels gooood.

    Planning to:

    Be with family for Christmas
    Clean my mess at home
    Pack away clothes I won’t be wearing for the next few months
    Organize our DVD and CD collection
    Do some walking

    I want to watch these favorites that make me happy and warm inside:

    Mary Poppins
    You’ve Got Mail
    White Christmas

    And I’m going to make tuna casserole! (The secret to my freshmen 15.)

    Ahh… I can’t wait!

  • I had pozole for the first time today. It was so good! Have you tried it before?

    “Pozole is a soup served at Mexica fiestas, especially around the holidays. Some say it’s good luck; others claim it’s a hangover cure.”

    I didn’t go to a Mexican fiesta, they were just serving it in our dining center. I put a bunch of raw onion and tortilla strips in mine… so yum! I want more!

    I love chefs. They throw a bunch of ingredients together that can make your taste buds so happy. *angels singing*

  • S is such a good son-in-law. He goes out of his way to do things for my parents and worries about them like they’re his own. He’s able to help them with things that I’m clueless on.
     
    Somehow when he tells me that things will be okay or that he’ll see what he can do, it makes me feel relieved. And I just believe him.
     
    I give him a big star sticker!!

    Good thing and bad thing, he also makes many other people feel the same way and so he is constantly bombarded with questions, favors, calls for help…

    I should lock him up sometimes.


  • Year-end is going to kick my butt. That’s what happens when you work in finance.

    And of all the time in the year, something happened overnight and 700 of our users were somehow marked inactive and can’t log into the system. Imagine coming in to tons of emails and voicemails saying, “Help!! I can’t get into the system and I need to meet some deadlines!”

    Oh, this is so what we NOT need right now.

    Some people would like to call these “opportunities”… no thanks. I don’t need “opportunities” right now.