October 24, 2008

  • We caught a mantid yesterday!! It was just hanging out on the drive way behind our car. S is very excited.

    It’s huge and tan. I never knew that their eyes get dark when they’re in dim light. We’ve been reading up on them on-line.

     

    mantidIt’s fun to have a mantid pet… but this also means that we need to feed it, too! When I was walking toward our house yesterday, I saw a cricket moving on the cement from the corner of my eye. I tried to catch it but it slipped out of my hand. Darn, I was so close! The mantid could have had a nice, juicy meal.

    I’ve been working all day today so I haven’t had a chance to go outside and hunt for bugs. I wonder if I dug in the dirt outside I’ll find some rolly pollies… (how sad, I love rolly pollies)

    They say that we should feed it different kinds of live bugs to give it different nutrients. And it’s best to feed the prey something nutritious before you feed the mantid. What? I have to feed the prey, too? That’s too much.

    Let’s see how long we can keep this guy alive.

Comments (8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *