October 27, 2008

  • S remembered that I had bought him a plastic container for small pets the last time he caught a praying mantis. He dug around in the garage and found it...

     

    Then we went to my parents' to get a hoe and a bug catcher contraption I had given to Amy.

    We swung by a near-by park to look for nice soil and branches for his little habitat. (I refer to most insects as a "he". Unless it's a ladybug, then that's a "she".)

     

    Saturday, we fed the mantid a bee (w/ fresh pollen). I wonder if that make it more delicious?

    Sunday the mantid ate a cricket that was visiting S's parents' house. It was really, really, juicy. I was kind of grossed out.

    Their mouths are scary. It's like they have hands on their mouths to help them eat. Imagine you're in a pie eating contest with your hands tied behind your back. You just lean your face toward the pie, but then you discover that there are little hands next to your mouth to scoop and turn the pie dish.

    Insects are cool.

    But I'm glad I'm human.

Comments (6)

  • That is pretty cool...I just feed my dog dry food.  Hahaha.... and occasionally some human food...mostly meat. 

    BTW, happy belated birthday!

  • i'm so glad you have a love for insects. all creation needs some lovin'. i love my rats. do you have stuffed animal insects?

  • yay!  it's still alive!   =)

  • insects are weird... do you know if it can eat black widows? i think we have one in our backyard, and i would have taken care of it... except i am not fond of killing spiders X_x yuck yuck yuck

  • @yamiam13 - hi may, thanks for thinking about keeping the black widowr but it's best to kill it and not have it lingering near your house. i fed it a spider yesterday. i am not fond of spiders.

  • sounds like an alien! re: calling a ladybug a she... that reminds me for francis in "a bug's life". "he" was very offended to be called a "she".

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories