February 24, 2009

  • Month 5:
    Week 17 – You are 5″ long and 5 oz now. Your skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone. Your sweat glands are starting to develop. I’m not much of a sweat-er, your Dad sweats like a regular person, I guess.

    01/25/09 – W17D1 - Woot! Woot! Auntie May to the rescue with 2 bags of her maternity clothes!
    01/25/09 – W17D1 - We went to Grand-Uncle S’s house to celebrate Chinese New Year tonight. Everyone is so excited about you! You will be the first of your generation born to the S family here in the States!
    01/27/09 – W17D3 – I noticed that my hair takes much longer to grow back after I shave my legs. Nice! God is thoughtul. He knows that it’d be harder for me to reach down there later and decided to give me a break.
    01/27/09 – W17D3 – I have officially become the pregnant woman that pees a lot.
    01/28/09 – W17D4 – Daddy says he can feel my stomach sticking out more when he hugs me.
    Week 18 – You’re 5 1/2″ long and 7 oz now. You are busy flexing your arms and legs. That’s what I need to be doing, too.
    02/01/09 – W18D1 – We are going to visit a home daycare tomorrow. I dreamt last night that so many of us went to check it out together. Daddy and me, Amy Ah-Yi, Grandpa/ma L, and even Great-Grandpa/ma L showed up, too! We all wanted to make sure it was a good place for you.
    02/01/09 – W18D1 – Oh my! SO many pregnancies this year! You’ll have a lot of friends to grow up and play with. 13 and counting.
    02/01/09 – W18D1 – I think I felt you moving today at the superbowl party? And on the ride home? It didn’t feel like gas. It was a constant motion which I’ve never felt before. Was that you? If so, do it again!!
    02/02/09 – W18D2 – Daddy and I both liked Tseng Ah-Yi a lot. We think she would provide a very loving and nurturing place for you while we are at work. How I wish I could stay home and take care of you myself.
    02/02/09 – W18D2 - I caught a bad cold. I feel terrible. Too bad the cold meds I take are not baby friendly. Do you feel it when I’m sick?
    02/03/09 – W18D3 - I am so miserable. Thank God for Daddy who takes care of us. I need to continue to eat well for you but I’m just so tired. I don’t know if it’s psychological, but I feel like my belly shrunk. Are you okay?
    02/04/09 – W18D4 - Daddy is talking to you more lately. Today he was telling you about so many of our friends who pray for us regularly.
    02/05/09 – W18D5 – Daddy made me pear soup. He will make that for you, too, when you’re sick.
    02/07/09 – W18D7 - I got a text message from you today that said, “I love you, Mommy”. Your Dad is a riot.
    Week 19 – You’re 6″ long and weigh 8 1/2 oz. Your sensory development is exploding. Some research suggests you may be able to hear now. Hello in there! We love you! And what do you want to eat?
    02/09/09 – W19D2
    – Everyone tells me how small my belly is… it kind of makes me nervous. But the doctor said it was okay. I will listen to her.
    02/10/09 – W19D3 – I now turn into the street of your daycare on my way home from work. This is how I will come pick you up in the future.
    02/11/09 – W19D4 – Bloodtests show that I’m slightly anemic; lacking iron. I’m going to try to eat more red meat and dark leafy vegetables.
    02/12/09 – W19D5 – What do you do in there all day? Do you get bored?
    02/14/09 – W19D7 – I woke up in a coughing spell at 2:30 in the morning which broke me down into sobs. How terrible it is to be you right now, like being trapped in a terrible thunderstorm? And I am the one causing it. Are you okay in there?
    02/14/09 – W19D7 - Phrases I googled today: 1) Does coughing hurt the baby? 2) Why don’t I look pregnant yet? Thanks to the internet, I am feeling better now.
    Week 20 – Go, baby, go! We have hit the halfway mark! From now on, we measure you from head to heel, and you are 10 inches long! You weigh about 10 1/2 oz.  You are swallowing more these days, good practice for your digestive system.
    02/18/09 – W20D4 – We saw you through an ultrasound today, it’s all recorded on DVR. You were so cute when you were trying to grab your feet! It’s the first time we’ve seen you move. I can’t wait to snuggle you in my arms.
    02/18/09 – W20D4 - My baby boy! We found out your sex today. We are thrilled! Now it’s time to pick out a perfect name for you. I have some names in mind. I hope Daddy agrees.
    02/18/09 – W20D4 – Mommy has gained 6 lbs since the pregnancy. The ultrasound technician says you weigh about 13 oz! That’s more than what babycenter.com says babies about your age weigh. Aha! And everyone thinks we’re small! She said that everything about you looks great! Yeah!
    02/19/09 – W20D5 - Last night at bedtime, I felt you moving on my left side. I poked you gently and you kicked back! I poked, you kicked. I poked, you kicked again. It was so fun! I love interacting with you. You make me so happy.
    02/21/09 – W20D7 – This morning I dreamt that you were kicking a lot. The next thing I knew you were out! You were 20 weeks early but the size of a regular newborn. I was so scared you were premature and your organs not fully developed. But the nurse said it was fine. I skipped work and I got to hold you.
    02/21/09 – W20D7 – I came across a cute outfit and I could not resist. My first purchase. I can imagine my little boy in this outfit, cuddly in my arms.
    02/21/09 – W20D7 – Grandpa/ma L took me out for steak tonight b/c I need more iron and protein. They are always trying to think of foods to feed me b/c they want you to grow healthy and strong.


Comments (16)

  • this is the sweetest pregnant mommy journal ever.
    congrats on finding out it’s a boy!  that’s awesome.

  • judy you’re having a baby?!  wow.. congrats!!!  

  • Ya, I am so excited for you. I sure am thankful that God provided you a good home daycare for baby. What a blessings!

    PS: H is putting a bandage on her doggie’s head while I am typing this. She is just too funny….

  • don’t worry about your belly being too small.  a lot of people tell me that (and they still do…even though i’m due next month).

    my doctor says i’m fine and i will listen to her.  =)  plus, you really don’t want a big belly, do you??

    btw, i was also “anemic”.  i’m taking iron supplements now…

  • yay!  i’m glad you guys found daycare for baby. :)  
    yay for baby/mommy interaction. :)   and now, daddy too!  can i have some a-yi interaction? teehee.

  • just… amazing =) poke, kick, poke, kick :D

  • OMG this was sooooooooooooooo adorable!!!!!  I absolutely LOVED reading this!!!!  Reminds me of my own pregnancy, except my husband wasn’t around or doing anything like making me pear soup.    Next time it’ll be better for me.  This time, enjoy every second and I know you appreciate it. 

    Btw:  I know its gross, but liver is a great source for blood if you need it.  lol My parents used to make me eat that too rofl  I used to have my co-workers wait on me hand and foot.  They’d bring me all sorts of home traditions from Mexico, American, Italian, Indian, Guatemelan, etc.  It was totally fun!    I think the ONLY good part of the pregnancy was going to work.  They treated me real good there, like family should.

  • TING!  congratulations on having a boy!!!  :)  how wonderful!!!  noah will have a cousin to play with .  :)

    i’m sorry i haven’t written back!  will write soon.  i can’t wait to see you!

  • Don’t worry about the little tummy, besides, you are showing it already :) I am only 3 month pregnant, and i feel my tummy looks like 5 months. You don’t want that either.

    Congratulation on finding a good daycare, that is important for working mommy.

    I can’t wait to feel my baby too, looks like fun!!

    I think take some iron supplement would help

  • so so so happy for you and Sam.

  • pear soup huh? what’s that like? 

  • this is beautiful.  baby is so blessed.  :)

  • so happy. hehe. keep updating us =]

  • so awesome!!!!  thanks for sharing.

  • @shortie717 - it’s good! pear, water, and rock sugar. yum.

  • Goodness, there’s so much effective info above! 2 0 0. This cannot really work, I feel so. 9 go 0. It cannot really have success, I suppose so. 0 go link. I saw really much worthwhile info in this post!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *