March 12, 2009

  • This past month has been physically taxing. It all started with some random cold. I started getting better, S caught it, I got food posioning, then I caught back the cold. My immune system is whacked out. I haven’t gotten food poisoning for years. Haven’t thrown up for 10+ years. Haven’t re-caught a cold, ever. I feel like I’m barely hanging on each day and can lie in bed forever even if it’s just staring at the wall.

    I had googled a few weeks ago if coughing is harmful to the baby. And the internet said, no problem, it’s like the baby is just getting jiggled in the womb. But I spoke to my OB brother last week and he said that excessive coughing is not good for the baby. Waaahh!!!

    So I get scared to cough, but trying to suppress a cough just makes it worse… and then I wonder why the baby isn’t moving, did I smush him too much? And then all of a sudden the baby will kick so much and it’s like he’s saying, “It’s okay, Mommy, I’m doing just fine in here! See?” And then I’m like, “Ahh, you’re such a good little boy! Thank you for comforting me.” But then I think, what if he’s angry, and that’s why he’s kicking! “Give me some peace and quiet in here! I’m trying to rest and grow!” I say, paranoid mother in the making…

Comments (10)

  • aw!  try some vick’s vapo rub.  should sooth your breathing anyway.  honey, tea, chicken soup.  is it feed a cold, starve a fever?  i think so. 
    your cold will eventually get better!
    with pregnancy, you can’t really take regular cold medicines, right?

  • My best friend has four kids and she is always getting sick.  She got sick with a cold and cough at least 4 times during each pregnancy, everytime I saw or see her she has a cold or something.  All her kids are healthy as oxes for the most part.  That’s if the whole family isn’t constantly contaminating each other.  You’ll be fine.  I’ve noticed first time moms are extra cautious, a good thing.  Hope you get better soon.

  • Your OB brother is right about excessive coughing can be harmful to the baby. A friend of mine actually coughed up too much that she had a miscarriage in her ten weeks. But your baby is in God’s hands and you are already in your 2nd trimester. It will be ok.

  • i bet he’s saying, ‘i want some more green milk tea!’

  • @SarahakaHungry - thanks. i’m not having breathing problems this 2nd time, just bad coughing and chest congestion. i’m actually surprised by what meds i can still take but i try to stay away if i don’t really need it. so far i’ve just taken robitussin dm and mucinex. but what i really want is nyquil!! 

  • Poor thing, definitely pray for you!!

    Try to get plenty of rest and sleep. Can you do some cough drop to at least calm the cough down? I think it is okay to take, right? Drink some chicken soup, eat a lot of fruit and vegie.

    I know how you feel. Sometimes I am paranoid too. I will constantly think if baby is still growing inside me. But like what Jongni said, his/her life is ultimately in God’s hand.

  • i forgot i already commented on this post…but what the heck is physically taxing? you got taxed on your physical body?

  • @tiffany_su - yeah, i hate taxes!

  • praying for you and baby.

  • when he’s out of the womb, he’ll like it a lot when he’s jiggled to sleep. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *