Month: August 2006

  •  *ring ring*

    Judy: Hi, this is Judy.
    Steve: Hey, GIRL! It's Steve! How are you?
    Judy: I'm GIRL! I mean, I'm GOOD!
    Steve:  That's great that you're a girl.



    I love this CD. Can't listen to it without moving around. My co-worker's looking at me funny, haha.
    Makes me happy. *dance*

    Totally reminds me of early High School years, wearing huge shirts, baggy pants, and big loop earrings. Hahaha! What were we thinking?!

    I've been cleaning out my old room at my Parents' house. Been giving away a lot of clothes... and found... my red BUM Equipment t-shirt! Remember that brand? How about UMEN? Or Cavariccis? Ah, I love that red shirt. I couldn't give it away. Great memories in that shirt.


    Same year as this CD, 1992. Wow, that shirt is 14 years old!


  • J: What are you watching?
    S: Attack of the Clones.
    J: Attack of the Clones?! Is that a scary movie?
    S: No.
    J: ... is it a suspense?
    S: No. It's Star Wars!


    I don't know these things. I'm so out of it.





    I made a Thai lime scallop dish yesterday. Oo, it was not good. I think I put in too much lime zest so it was kind of bitter. But Katelyn still ate it. Ah, the things we do for our friends. I warned Sam not to eat it. But Katelyn's baked chicken turned out really good! Okra is yummy, too. I think I've only had it one other time. Even though my dish didn't turn out right, I'm excited that I'm excited about cooking. A little encouragement sure goes a long way. Katelyn's boyfriend said he's scared to criticize because he just wants to be fed, hahaha!


    I told my co-workers about trying to learn how to cook, and they're so nice to offer recipes. I have really nice co-workers. (P.S. I collected $1.76 from recyclables that they brought me the last few weeks. I told you, I'm going to be rich!)


    "Minced" is a funny word. So is "fruit".

  • do the twist 


    A bloke's bike back brake block broke.


    Preshrunk silk shirts.

    Ed'd edited it.

    The sixth sick shiek's sixth sheep's sick.


  • Alright everyone, take down all your solar system posters because instead of 9 planet, there are now only 8: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Pluto has officially been demoted by the International Astronomical Union.


    pluto 


    Its status has long been in debate. "Pluto... doesn't make the grade under the new rules for a planet: 'a celestial body that is in orbit around the sun, has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a ... nearly round shape, and has cleared the neighborhood around its orbit.' It is automatically disqualified because its oblong orbit overlaps with Neptune's." I wonder if there have been astronomers that have been pushing and rubbing their hands together for this day. They just despise Pluto, just not good enough. You never know, there are some very passionate people out there.


    When I heard the radio announcer say that Pluto was no longer a planet, I thought it got blown up or something. It's weird to think something like this that we were taught growing up is no longer true. What else will change and what else will we find? Space is huge. Well, it's all very exciting.


    Imagine all the new textbook editions to come.


    Here's a great timeline about this now "dwarf planet".


  • Katelyn and I are trying something new. Every Monday after our walk, we will cook together. This will help me to practice so I can be the wife/future mom I'd like to be. I remember cooking back in college and cutting veggies, one roommate noticed and took over. She didn't like the shape the vegetables were turning out or the speed I was cutting. It was nice that she tried to show me but I guess it was the way she did it. I remember another roommate telling her, "It was fine how she was doing it before. Just let her do it her way." Rather odd moment, even as I think back. It happened another time after that. I think I shied away from cooking for others more after that point.


    Anyway, cooking with Katelyn is different, she lets me do whatever I want and she's very encouraging. I didn't feel judged, it was just fun. And our dishes turned out pretty good. I made lemongrass chicken and Katelyn made ketchup shrimp and green beans. We polished it off with lychee jelly for dessert. It was a delicious meal, I am quite proud of myself. I brought home a tupperware full of food for Sam to try, I hope he will like it.


    This morning, my fingers smelled like lemongrass/garlic/onions. I smelled like a cook. Yay! This is exciting. But good thing the smell is gone. So, there is more to life than sudoku and drinking boba. Maybe I will attempt my mom's spicy basil manila clam dish next week. She is a great cook.


  • teacup2teacup I'm not a morning coffee or tea drinker. But come 3:30 or so, I have an urge to reward myself with a sweet drink which also signals the nearing end of my work day. A few weeks ago, I came across a box of tea at an Asian market. In Chinese it's branded 3:15 pm, I guess that's tea time? The flavor is "fruity milk tea". I like milk tea and I like fruits, plus the packaging was appealing. I was sold. I tried it today, and it's really good!


    Now, if someone would sell instant bobas, I'd be saving myself so much money. Maybe this week I'll try to cook some tapioca balls, those are easier and faster.




    I'm tickled everytime I think about this.
    Saturday morning, Sam and I were sleeping and in his sleep he snatched the pillow from right under my head in one quick swoop! I was rudely awakened. At first I tried going back to sleep but I wanted the pillow back and he was turned away from me, hugging it like a teddy bear.


    J: Hon...ey? Why did you steal my pillow?
    S: zzzzzz
    J: Hon...ey?
    S: zzz... huh?
    J: Why did you steal my pillow?
    S: I did?
    J: Yes, you're holding it right now.
    S:


    *chuckle*


  • reading by windowCame across this picture recently, it's so peaceful, calming...
    How wonderful to have a spot like that to read. I had always dreamed to own a home with a dormer window like this: big windows that brings in natural light, and a place to sit, with pillows so comfy and cozy.


    It's been a while since I've gotten lost in a book. The last two books I read were so slow, I couldn't even get through half of it.


    When we have kids, I hope they will also love to read. I love talking to my friends/co-workers about books we're reading. It's amazing the stories some of the authors can translate into words and put down on paper.


    Sam is not a reader. In high school, he'd sit in a jacuzzi with his friends and listen to books on tape before he had to write up a essay. And as he progressed through school, his BSing skills grew, so he only read the back cover and a few sentences here and there. And still got A's... so wrong and so unfair.




    It's about 3pm. Sam came home, stuck his arm in the room, holding a boba! I love him!


  • Wow, I've had a free lunch these past 3 days:


    Monday: Togo's sandwich from Joe's going-away party
    Tuesday: Katelyn wanted me to try her food at her apartment
    Wednesday: Free lunch from coffee creamer taste test at work


    This is the life!


    This and other recent free lunches justifies me buying a new pair of shoes? Yeah, I think so.


    rsvpkelly 


  • I told my co-workers to give their soda cans and bottles to me if they didn't recycle. Not only is it good for the environment but I found some recycling machines at a supermarket by work, and I get $0.04 per bottle! It's so fun to feed the machines. The glass one is scary b/c it shatters it when it drops and makes a loud sound. *crash*


    I just thought that they'd give me what they have at work, but this morning, one co-worker brought me 2 bags from home. How sweet of her! Then another co-worker said he was going to bring me a bag from home, too. recycle

    Judy: Oh my gosh, I feel like a bag lady!
    Co-Worker #1: Was that you I saw the other day with a shopping cart at the park?
    Co-Worker #2: And I'm sure you had on a cute outfit, right?


    They are hilarious and I'm going to be rich!


    For some reason I feel like a kid, as if I'm selling lemonade at the street corner or selling fundraising candies from school, and they are supporting me.

    I think I'll buy them some desserts at the end of the year from Portos. Yum. That will be nice for all of us to enjoy.

  • Sam was out last night, so I decided to take myself out on a date.

    the devil wears pradaI had a free movie voucher so I caught the 7:30 showing of "The Devil Wears Prada". Now I know what people are talking about when they say the outfits in the movie are really nice. I can never see myself wearing stuff like that (or paying $$$ for them), but I like seeing others wear it.


    Now, how does she run around the city like that in heels? As expensive as they are, I'm sure they are not comfortable. I foresee an increase of podiatrists in the near future.


    Then I treated myself to a steak burrito. When Sam told me he was going to have Mexican food for dinner, I wanted some, too!

    And when I got home, I realized I locked myself out of the house! How did I get so smart? Good thing he was just minutes from home.


    "That's all."

Recent Comments

Categories