Month: January 2008


  • Esther and Ed invited us over for hot pot last weekend. One of Esther's favorite shows is One Tree Hill. Ed said that he tries to make it a point to watch that show with her just because she likes it. Man, that's so sweet!


    I love it when people try to find out more about another's interest so that they can understand that person more, spend more time with them, perhaps have something in common with them…


    blueberry cerealI was thinking about that while having breakfast this morning...
    It reminded me of a boy who had a crush on me in high school. He found out what my favorite cereal was, went to the store to get it, and then ate the whole box in a day! I heard it through the grapevine. That was cute.


    Or the time when Amy asked me how to solve a sudoku puzzle because she knew I really liked them. She sat there and listened to me talk about my sudoku strategies.


    Or when I was first diagnosed with lupus and my mom and some friends read up on it so they'd know what it was and what I was going through.


    That's really heart-warming stuff. They're telling me through their actions that I'm worth the effort to be known better. I love it when people intentionally try to connect with others by stepping into their world.


    Do you remember a time like this?

  • Director: Judy, congratulations on being nominated for the X committee. I talked to Y and it's all set.
    Judy: X committee? What's that?

    How can they just do that?
    If it's worthy of being congratulated, then shouldn't I have the chance to accept or decline?

    What do I get out of this? More work.
    It doesn't look like I can get out of it though.

    It's funny how they spin these things:
    "Congratulations!"
    Everything is an "Opportunity".

  • S bought me a coconut! I didn't know that you can eat the coconut meat until I went on vacation to Thailand with some girlfriends a few years ago. I didn't know coconuts had meat.

    coconut girlAs part of the elephant-riding package, they give you a coconut. After you've finished it, you feed the shell to the elephants. I handed mine to the baby elephant. It gobbled it up!


    I am working from home today, but with this coconut, I feel like I'm on vacation. Ah, so nice.


    Eating a coconut is like a treat. You get to dig around and it feels like you're playing with food.


  • Ah, I just had a nice big bowl of pho at home!


    We went to have pho the other day. Rainy, cold days are so good for pho. Such a comfort food. I got a bigger bowl by accident and had all this soup and meat leftover. So we brought it home and went to the market to buy some noodles. I got like 3 meals out of that bowl. Wow, I feel so powerful!


    I was telling my friend because being able to stretch food out like that makes me so giddy. She said that she usually orders pho to go becase they usually give her more soup. She then takes it home and add more noodles in there. Sometimes she'll add a bit of water, then her and her husband will share 1 order.


    I once read somewhere that there's some addictive herb in the soup. I don't know if it's true, but I'm willing to believe it.


    If only the smell wouldn't cling to me…

    What The Pho  Pho Ever  Pho Shizzle

  • I got a learn-it-yourself Korean book. I spend a few minutes a day looking at it, it's pretty fun so far. I love it when I watch K-Dramas and recognize words. I can even make out a few (very few) phrases, albeit VERY short ones. But the grammar is confusing the heck out of me.

    There isn't anyone around me on a regular basis for me to practice it with. I guess it's just me and K-Dramas for now. Oh… and S.


    I will throw out Korean words even if he doesn't know what I'm saying. So if I want a response, then I will translate myself.


    "Odi-ga?" Where are you going?
    "Ka-ja" Let's go.
    "Kach'i mok-ja" Let's eat together.
    "Wae-yo?" Why?
    "Ani" No.
    "Kurae?" Is that so?


    And then once in a while I will remind him that my name is Judy.

    "Chonun Judy-imnida."


    For everything he will say, "Ne!" He says it like he's a sheep.

  • Heh, funny.


    disney princesses


    I wish Disney would start drawing their cartoons again instead of the computer animation.


  • Hair. People sure can make such a big deal about it. Well, I can't deny that it can make one look quite different.
    hairstyle1
    Sunday with the 4th and 5th graders that we teach:


    [Girl student A walks in sporting a boy cut]


    Girl student B: Oh my gosh, what did you do to your hair?!
    Girl student A: [shrug]
    Girl student B: Why did you do that? It looks so weird.
    Girl student A: [shrug]
    Girl student B: Did you WANT to get it cut like that?
    Girl student A: No... my mom took me.
    Girl student B: But why? It looks so weird.
    hairstyle2Girl student A: [slide down on chair]
    Judy: What's wrong with short hair? It's more manageable that way.
    Girl student B: But... it looks so weird.
    Judy: When I was in college, I had my hair that short, too.
    Girl student A: You did?!

    Geesh, kids can be so rude sometimes. The same thing happened last year but with the boys. They were picking on him because he came in with his hair gelled and spiked. They kept telling him he looked dumb until I said it looked cool. I thought it really did. Peer pressure can be so much at this age. Geesh! Can't wait for them to learn to filter their words better. Can't wait for them to be more confident of who they are, too.


    I'm so glad I'm not a kid anymore and if others dislike my choice of hairstyle I'm fine with it. It only gets to me if I'm not okay with it myself. I guess it all starts from the inside.

  • I really want to watch "Lars and the Real Girl"!! Nominated for best actor and best original screenplay.


    Ryan Gosling plays the lead. About the emotional journey of a man who takes around a life-size doll, whom he met on the internet, as his girlfriend. The townspeople treat her as a real person to help him get through whatever that is causing this delusion.


    Did you know he was also on the Mickey Mouse Club? Whoever the casting person of that show was amazing at recognizing talent. Out of that group came Justin Timberlake , JC Chasez, Christina Aguilera, Britney Spears, Ryan Gosling, Kerri Russell, Tony Lucca, Deedee Magno Hall...

Recent Comments

Categories