Month: February 2008


  • American Idol, anyone?


    That David Archuleta guy is so good! But he has this weird breathing thing.
    Let's just end the show now.
    I also like that guy with the dreadlocks that plays the guitar.


    Had to conduct training 3 days this week. Training is super-draining for this introvert.
    You've got to be "on" all the time. I was soo tired.
    By the end of the day I just wanted to be a zombie.


    On the first day, we always start with introductions.
    We had a blast with, "If you were trying out for American Idol, what song would you sing?"

    I love this song
    Eva Cassidy's rendition is amazing.

  • Our Sunday School kids earned their pizza and ice cream party today. It was such a sight seeing them digging into the pizza when the boxes were opened.


    We just ate and played games. They made me play MASH.


    I ended up with S! Woohoo! (My other options were 2 of the boys in class.)
    We are going to have one child, own a sports car, but live in a shack.
    I know it's just a game, but when we were down to 1 kid or none, I was really hoping to get the 1 because I want kids! I'm glad we didn't end up with 1 million children, because that is just too unrealistic.

    They also made S play and put his girl choices as Judy, Judy 1, and Judy 2.
    Aw, so we ended up together.

    I just remembered that I still have a copy of a MASH game that S and I played from when we were dating. En route to winter retreat on a bus. It's glued to a page of a journal that I wrote in. Haha. We ended up marrying each other that time and got to live in a MANSION!

  • Lunar EclipseGiven clear skies, we should be able to see a total lunar eclipse tonight.


    The total phase will last 51 minutes and begins at 7:01 pm PST.

    Typically there are coppery red and orange hues cast over the moon at and near totality from sunlight refracted from our atmosphere around the edge of the Earth, giving the moon the appearance of an eerie glowing ball.

    As a bonus, during the eclipse the moon will be situated, in our sky, near the planet Saturn and the bright bluish star Regulus in the constellation of Leo. The effect will be to create a uniquely beautiful triangle in the sky consisting of the totally eclipsed moon, a bright naked-eye planet and one of the 21 brightest stars in the sky.

    To read the whole article, click here.

  • Hahahaha! Eyeball stickers!!
    I know someone who needs them!!


    eyeball stickers


  • Happy Valentines' Day!!


    These cards are from elementary school.
    Remember?


    valentines cards


  • I called my opthamologist on Friday and he was able to squeeze me in.


    I have filamentary keratitis, caused from dry eyes. You know how our dead skin cells slough off… well, our eyeballs do the same thing, I guess. But since I don't make enough tears to flush them out, they ended up linking together and formed 3 strands. One end of each of these 3 strands attached itself to my cornea so each time I blink I'd scrape them against my cornea. Think: windshield wipers. So my blurry vision is from my scratched up cornea.


    eyecareHe used a tweezer to take them out. Fortunately I didn't feel a thing. He said that my cornea would heal up on its own, maybe even overnight!


    Hallelujah! I was so elated it was such a simple solution. I really thought that I was going blind and that the other eye would follow suit shortly. I was ready to hear some bad news.


    I'm no longer seeing massive haloes around lights. The night before seeing the doctor, I started seeing triangles around every light. Even airplanes. I never realized how many street light there are down Gale or Valley/Grand!! Wow! And when you drive by car lots… it's blindingly, overwhelmingly scary!


    I'm not seeing weird light stuff at night anymore… but my vision is still blurry though. It's better, but still blurry. What's up with that? I will see him again in a month. He is such a good doctor.

    Thanks again for your concern and prayers! Vision is such a GOOD thing!! Love your eyes today!

  • There was a conference call today, the first time that the new committee is meeting.
    There were a couple directors on the call, some managers, and some analysts.
    For some reason my throat started tickling.
    So I put my phone on mute and somehow ended up coughing like a crazy person.
    I coughed so hard that our admin who sits across from me came by and asked if I needed some medicine.

    After the meeting my co-worker asked me why I didn't speak up.
    I said, "I did! Were you sleeping?"
    Ahhhhhh!!! It turns out that something's wrong with my phone and it's all backwards.


    I'm not muted when I mute it.
    I'm muted when I don't mute it.
    I can't stand people that make so much noise on a conference call. It's so rude!
    Now I'M that person! (Yes, they all knew it was me.)
    I was coughing right into the mouth piece, too!
    And I didn't respond when I was supposed to.
    Ahhhhh!! I'm SO embarrased.

    Waaaahhhhh…..

    This calls for a chocolate bar.

  • Google CNYHappy Chinese New Year!!
    I love how Google updates their banner for special days.
    I heard Disney is making it a big deal in Asia b/c Mickey is a mouse. Smart!




    Yesterday was my Mother-In-Law's birthday.

    I took a picture of her while we sang "happy birthday". She looked so happy with a big smile on her face and her hands clasped in front of her.

    After she blew out the candle, she held it up and said:

    MIL: Let Judy have a baby soon. And let A get married soon.
    A (SIL):  ... You're not supposed to say it out loud.


    I love blowing out candles on birthdays. It's just not the same without it.


    P.S. Thanks for your concern and prayers! I talked to my doctor brother yesterday and he told me to call and talk to the nurse first if the doctor is busy. He gave me very good tips on talking to the staff and all… he is so wise. But their office is closed today so I'll try tomorrow.


  • My left eye has gone haywire.
    It sees like I have no glasses on even though I have glasses on.
    It also sees like there's a fog machine in the room.
    It just happened out of nowhere.
    The right eye is fine.
    So my focus is off and get headaches because of it.


    Nightime driving feels like I'm high on drugs.
    Brake lights, oncoming headlights, street lights, signals are haloed, huge, overlapping each other.
    (OMG, old people always complain about lights and driving at night. Now I understand them.)
    It's fine when I wake up, but once my eye is exposed to more light, it's over.

    Trying to stay away from sudoku puzzles, reading, and watching K-Dramas w/ subtitles.
    But those are things I love...
    Wish I could stay away from work b/c work = staring at the computer all day.
    I have one eye closed most of the day at my desk. It's so clear, what a contrast.
    I need a pirate patch. Arrrgg.


    My opthamologist is booked solid until March.
    I hope I'm not going blind. I need my eyes to last me many more years.
    I'd appreciate your prayers.
    I'm kind of scared.


    Hey, you know that Jessica Alba movie where she gets a corneal implant…
    And then she sees ghosts…

  • Need your help...
    What kind of activities do you not need your eyes for?
    You can look, but just not have to focus your eyes on an object.
    Like... "reading" would not be a good answer. Or "knitting". Or "watching TV".

    Ideas?

Recent Comments

Categories